In the fall of 2008, the president, faculty, and students endorsed a “Commitment to Environmental Stewardship” to represent the official position of the College. With the adoption of this commitment, the Environmental Task Force has been renamed the Committee for a Sustainable Campus.

As an institution of higher learning committed to the liberal arts tradition, we have a fundamental responsibility to educate future leaders for productive lives in a complex global society. The College of Wooster is a community of learners and, as such, we have a unique opportunity to structure our common life within the College in ways that foster informed choices and promote the ideals of sound environmental stewardship. We therefore affirm that the College of Wooster will exemplify efforts to integrate environmental knowledge and values into daily life by conducting our affairs in ways that enhance personal, public, and environmental health.

Contact committee chair: Dr. Susan Clayton

The sustainability Committee was tasked with creating a 5-year Sustainability Plan in 2018-2019. Materials presented to the Board of Trustees in May of 2019 can be seen here

Tree Campus USA badge

Brian Webb

Wooster announces Brian Webb as new campus sustainability officer

Brian Webb, an innovative sustainability leader and long-time experiential educator, has been named The College of Wooster’s inaugural Director of Campus Sustainability, effective August […]

Wooster Electric Van

New electric vehicle marks move toward increased sustainability for Wooster campus fleet

The College of Wooster introduced its first electric vehicle to its campus fleet late this fall, marking an important step forward in making the […]